Sign in with
Your question

Budget Workstation Build (Graphics/CAD/CS4)

Last response: in Systems
April 22, 2009 4:57:09 AM

I am looking to update my current workstation which I use for work. I am an Industrial Designer, so I constantly use Adobe CS4, Solidworks, Pro-Engineer, Bunkspeed Hypershot, & Sketchbook Pro.

I need a machine that will allow me to have decent speed/performance, when working with high-res/multi-layer files and 3d models (especially renders).
I don't work with video, it is strictly 3d Modeling, 3d Renders, Photoshop, Illustrator & sketching on a tablet.

This is what I have so far:

CPU:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 Yorkfield 2.66GHz ($184.99)
Updated Pick
AMD Phenom II X4 940 3.0GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor ($189.99)

MoB0:
ASUS P5QL PRO LGA ($86.99) (ATX connector makes cable management impossible)
GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L Intel P43 ($84.99)
Updated Pick
GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard($109.99)

Video Card:
PNY Quadro FX580 512MB 128-bit GDDR3 ($184.99)

Ram:
OCZ 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) ($95.98)
Updated Pick
G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) ($109.98)

Fan/Heatsink:
XIGMATEK Dark Knight 120mm Long Life Bearing CPU Cooler ($39.99)
Updated Pick
XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler ($26.99)

Total $620.94

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: (15-30 days)

BUDGET RANGE: (US$450-600)

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: (Graphics Rendering, 3d Modeling, Sketching using Wacom Intuos4)

PARTS REQUIRED: CPU, Graphics Card, RAM, Motherboard, Fan/Heatsink

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: (PSU already own Corsair 500W,Keyboard, Mouse, Monitor already own Samsung 24", Speakers, OS, Hard Drive already own Western Digital 640gb 7200rpm, Optical Drive & Case already own a Lian Li)

PREFERRED WEBSITE FOR PARTS: (newegg.com)

PARTS PREFERENCES: (Quality companies, known for good products)

OVERCLOCKING: Yes SLI OR CROSSFIRE: No

MONITOR RESOLUTION: (1920x1200)