Sign in with
Your question

MSI Overclocking Genie

Last response: in Overclocking
January 26, 2011 12:39:11 AM

I have the MSI Big Bang Xpower X58 motherboard, which features "overclock genie". Apparently all you have to do is press a button located on the bottom of the motherboard, and your CPU and RAM are automatically overclocked. I've got a Core i7 930 @ stock speeds (2.8 GHz) I have no experience in overclocking. I've got an aftermarket heatsink (ZALMAN CNPS9900) and a high-airflow case (HAF 932) which should leave some overclocking headroom. If I press the button, I'm afraid my PC will be damaged or destroyed by the overclocking process.

Overclocking is extremely risky and can very easily damage or destroy your components if not done carefully and correctly. I have not overclocked anything before, and I am afraid I might screw something up if I do.

Should I, or should I not press the OC genie button? How far will it OC my CPU and RAM to? I'm not trying to reach 4.0 GHz, maybe 3.4 or 3.6 might be good.

My CPU idle temperatures are around +/- 30 *C idle, and 40-something under gaming load.

Message edited by ambam on 01-24-2011 at 03:26:20 PM

If I press the button, will my computer instantly be permanently ruined?

More about : msi overclocking genie

a c 138 à CPUs
a c 239 K Overclocking
a b V Motherboard
January 26, 2011 8:42:40 AM

if uwant overclock safely this way good for you , Oc genie is auto overclok this recomendation from MSI
a c 158 à CPUs
a c 280 K Overclocking
a c 292 V Motherboard
January 26, 2011 12:10:29 PM

ambam said: