Klasher

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2009
Heey,

So, i'm kinda new to all the router stuff and such so, excuse my lack of knowledge :p

So I have a wired internet connection. (Livebox)
And I just got a laptop. Now I want to make my wired connection a wireless one. (Witout changing the livebox)
So I looked a bit around the web and found:

Linksys Wireless-G Access Point

and

Sitecom Wl Access Point 300N WL-331

Both are about the same price (€70-ish).
But I don't know which one ie better, or maybe both aren't the one I was looking for.
I just want to browse the internet, chat and maybe play a little game now and then.
So. Any ideas which one I should buy?

Thanks in advance

Klasher

Solution
G
"So, A shop near my house sells the Linksys WRT120N Wireless-N Router.
And it's cheaper than the Linksys G Access Point."

That was my point. I don't use much Linksys stuff but it seems robust (having mistakenly connected a 12 volt supply to a 5 volt Linksys router and had to solder in a replacement component from a broken Linksys wireless bridge).

For how to use wireless router as access point see this: http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965

"router behind router mode" requires that you put the first router in bridge mode if it allows that. Probably simpler to use access point or replace the Orange router.

For wireless to work best in 3 storey house I'd put the wireless router on the middle floor, but that may...
G

Probably nothing wrong with Sitecom products but it's a small Dutch company -- hardly compares size-wise with Linksys which is part of Cisco.

Klasher

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2009
So, I guess Linksys is a better option?
Let me get this straight, All I have to do is get aan AP and plug it in my Sitecom switchport and i'm ready to go?
So, I shouldn't get a router or something?

Would be so easy if that's all there's to it :p

Klasher

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2009
Yeah, it's the orange product.