my os is - e7400 core 2 duo 2.8
-2 gigs of ram
-zotac gts 450
-160 sata hd
-p5kpl am in mobo
-450w psu
-1600x900 screen res
-cooler-only fans

im thinking of increasing my gaming performance .....what do u suggest????

1) overclocking
2) or upgrading my ram to 4 gigs (is it worth the money)????

and what more can i do to optimize my gaming pfmce??

im new to overclocking and never done this before!!! does this damage my pc ??

asheesh1_2000

Distinguished
May 13, 2010
There is nothing complicated in OC as long as you are using the manufacturer's tools only, however I would recommend OC only when you are really short with funds and want to improve the performance.

Yes, it does decrease the life of the hardware and in some cases it voids the warranty on the hardware as well.

Now, to your subject question..

this depends on what kind of games you want to play,, I assume you are aiming for the current games ... so..

Core 2 Duo is fine if not super,, so you can keep it.

2 GIGs of ram... only if you stay with Win XP.

Zotac GTS 450.... here I would say if you can replace it with GTX series.

Mobo... this depends if your hardware fits in or not.

PSU ... Again this depends on which card you hv,, If you decide to upgrade the CARD, then you might hv to upgrade the PSU as well.

Screen... is ok,., I would not say it needs any immediate improvement.

Cooler.. are cool.

abswindows7

Distinguished
Aug 16, 2009
First, change power supply.
Second, overclock your cpu which means new cpu cooler
Third, ram may help
And last but not the least, a better graphic card will greatly help (in term of fps) but will probably hurt the wallet too

Regarding the ram, it depends on your operating system, but you should notice some more responsiveness overall. Ram is dirt cheap right now, I'm recommending to grab as much as you can afford right now. Is that DDR3?