Your question

I7 build suggestions/comments plz

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
April 23, 2009 10:08:27 PM

New Member of this site, but i usually come here for help. Anyway its time to upgrade the PC and im relatively new to building my own computers(I built my last one, but it was a low to mid range rig).

I already have some parts picked out and would like some feedback on 1. if they are compatible and 2. if there is another product that is clearly a better choice.

This rig will be used the most by gaming. That being said i really dont mind going above and beyond the gaming minimum. But please if there is a part that is going to A. Limit my gaming or B. im going to use way less power than the item has let me know of an alternative. And explanations are always appreciated. Thanks in advance

Case: Thermaltake Spedo Advance 199$ from newegg

Mobo: Foxconn Bloodrage 265$ from newegg

CPU: i7 920 279$ from newegg
**also on the CPU how is the fan that comes with it? i have a Thermaltake V1 If the stock CPU fan is lacking would this work or should i go ahead and pick up a new one?**

RAM: Mushkin DDR3 1600 209$ from newegg

Video card: GTX 295 550$ from tigerdirect (sold out at newegg)

PSU: I already own OCZ GameXStream just need to know if this will be enough.

I have already purchased Vista 64 Ultimate and a Seagate 500GB HD

Put this post together at work in between actually working so if i left anything out please ask and ill respond as quick as i can. id like to order this thing as soon as possible. ive noticed several products ive picked out selling out.

More about : build suggestions comments plz

April 23, 2009 10:29:05 PM

I would suggest getting the CPU from microcenter (229.99 from there).

The motherboard is OK, but I'm partial to the Asus p6t - I think you can get it for 239.99 at microcenter too.