Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Computer crashes when running games. Over heating problem? PS problem?

Tags:
  • Computer
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
January 29, 2011 8:25:55 PM

Hi so first off Im brand new to the toms hardware forums though I've known of the site for awhile. Anyways hi everybody

Heres my problem:
My computer is not overclocked, i just figured that this issue would best suit this forum. If there is a tech support forum then I missed it and I blame it on my newbiness.

-Im running windows xp service pack 2 right now.
- AMD athlon 64 x2 dual core 6000+
- 4g ram
- Nvidia Gforce 8800 gt
- Antec 450 watt pwr supply

I can start up any game just fine get to the menu yada yada but as soon as I want it to load the actual game to play, my computer crashes completely - either shutting off or freezing the screen in a horrible pink and cutting off the sound. The only option when it does this is to turn it off. Some times it will not turn back on right away, and other times I will have to unplug it and leave it for a bit before i can turn it back on.

Now I've always laughed at people who do things like unplugging their computers to try and fix things but this seriously is getting crazy and it is the only way I can get it to turn back on.

Ive naturally thought that something was over heating and found that ( through using core temp and gpu-z)

cpu idles at: 64c (both cores)
gpu idles at: 70c

So I freaked because thats really high for a gpu to be idleing at and figured my gpu was crashing my computer so as to not overheat. it also made sense because when I tried to play games it would put it over the edge but just doing simple things such as browsing the internet wouldnt. So I downloaded and used rivatuner to find that my gpus fan speed was runing at 25%, so I cranked it up to 100% and waited for the temperature to drop.

cpu idles at: 64c
gpu idles at: 57c