Best cooler for SandyBridge 2600k overclock

reaperz

Distinguished
May 13, 2008
Hey guys,

after building my SandyBridge 2600k rig ive now decided to up the game a bit, and do some overclocking.

my last overclock attempts were years ago, with the AMD x64 cpu's, and this is my first time owning an Intel CPU, so im sure things have changed a lot !

i am wanting a 4.6+ghz overclock, the hardware im using is as follows

hardware

CPU : Intel Sandy Bridge 2600k

Moytherboard : Asus p8p67-m motherboard
http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=hcyfdEpZcMvFkTNm

Ram : Corsair VENGEANCE 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL8
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=14138

Case : NZXT Phantom black
http://www.nzxt.com/new/products/crafted_series/phantom

HDD : OCZ Vertex2 60gb SSD + various seagate 1tb drives

GPU : GTS250

Case Fan Setup

REAR, 1 X 120mm
SIDE, 2 x 120mm
TOP, 1 X 200mm

my question is, what is going to be the best cooler ? i dont mind spending good money to get a strong cooler, my limited research has showed that the Venemous X, Hyper212+ and Megahelem are all excellent contenders, with the Noctua ND-D14 being one of the top.

By running only 2 ram sticks i can move these to slot 3 & 4 thus hopefully giving clearance over the heatspreaders.

I'm also not running the large centre fan on the case, so this gives extra clearance if needed.

here is a list of coolers i can get, as im from New Zealand.

http://pricespy.co.nz/category.php?o=produkt_pris_inkmoms&rev=1&l=s65155847.

Thanks :) !!!!! i cant wait to be more active in this community.

Solution
Ya can't move the RAM, it' goes where it's gotta go in the 2nd and 4th slots from the CPU.

The Vengeance Heat Spreaders may be problematic....and for that price, holy craps !