Suggestions on OC and

chris13002

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2009
I am a newbie at overclocking and therefore have not attempted it yet... but definitely have plans...
Here is my setup...

Antec Twelve Hundred Case...
Asus P6X58D-E MB
i7 970 Processor
Corsair XMS3 1600 6GB (7-8-7-20 timings)
EVGA GTX 580
Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
2x OCZ Vertex 30GB RAID 0 SSD + 2TB Seagate Barracuda XT (SATA 6GB)
Corsair 750 Watt PSU

I just built everything... put it together, and ran into the issue on the ASUS MB when the front USB's are plugged in, I get (usb over current status detected with front port), so I re-screwed all MB screws, checked all pins, and this seems to be stemming from the Case itself... Only does it while the 5 pins from the front USB connectors are plugged in...(tried both USB ports on the motherboard) This isn't a big deal and am looking into this... Any suggestions...???

Anyways, my main question is how should I overclock this? EVERYTHING is currently stock and I have been reading here and there about overclocking but have a few questions...

To my knowledge, shouldn't the RAM should be running stock at 1066MHZ??? I left everything on the ASUS MB auto/stock... To change it or make it correct, I am reading that XMP (extreme memory profiler) with manual timing settings should set this right without overclocking the CPU. Shall I do this or set the XMP to auto and let it do it's own thing? From what I believe the RAM is XMP certified... Or should I start this with overclocking the CPU and set the RAM timings based on the CPU overclock at the same time???
Any suggestions or experience with the same setup? I read a few differences with higher BCLK + low multiplier vs higher multipler + lower BCLK.... Lower BCLK seems better as it will require less voltage mods...