Computer shuts down unexpectedly.

typeo

Distinguished
Aug 9, 2008
Ive built this computer a while back, around 8 months ago and have never had any problems with it, that is until now. For some reason when I start playing graphic intensive games my computer will just shut off. I think it is due to overheating because it has started to get really hot here, and I'm a poor college student, so I try not to turn on my AC to save some cash. But now I cant play my games. I have plenty of fans, and a good CPU cooler with arctic silver grease, and a case with good airflow.

My specs are:

Motherboard - P5Q Pro
PSU - Corsair 650W
GPU - ATI 4850
CPU - Intel Core Duo E8500 3.16GHz
CPU cooler - OCZ Vendetta 2
Case - Coolmaster RC-690
Fans - Have 6 fans in my case circulating air.

I have installed a few different temp measuring programs and my temps on my GPU have been idle 77C - 100C when playing games.. This is with my GPU fan going at 100%

My CPU cores have been ranging from 50 - 65C depending on idle or running a game. So I was wondering, is my computer just getting to hot and shutting down? Or do I have something else going on that is causing problems? If it is overheating, what it the culprit that is getting to hot and shutting down my computer?

Any help would be very appreciated,

Thanks,
Typeo

typeo

Distinguished
Aug 9, 2008

I have 4GB of RAM in my computer, but on my GPU Its only 512MB

In BIOS, set the voltage, timings and speed to Mfg. specs. Bump up the RAM voltage a notch.

I usually try to stay out of the BIOS so, I'm not exactly sure how to do this. What do you mean set it to Mfg?

Maybe install/reinstall the latest CAT 9.4 driver for the video card.

Did this 2 times last night.

Is the video card's fan spinning?

Yes, I have the computer with the side panel off sitting right beside me, and its spinning like crazy.

Maybe the VC's RAM is getting to hot. Maybe the card is toast? Do you have spare VC to try? Spare PSU?