Why is it not recommended to connect two fans to CPU header?

mrklaw

Distinguished
Jun 14, 2008
Hi,

I have a noctua 9B CPU cooler, which comes with two fans and a splitter to connect to one CPU header. But reading up, I keep hearing over and over that you should only connect one fan per header, concern about overloading the motherboard etc. I'm new to this building lark, so I'm wary to go against such repeated advice.

But.

First, Noctua (who seem to be a recommended manufacturer) give you a splitter. Why would they do that if it wasn't meant to be used?

Second, the CPU header on my ASUS P8P67 is rated for 12W/1A. The Noctua fans on the CPU cooler are rated at 1.32W each. So a total of 2.64W/0.22A. Even if thats normal power, and they need double on startup, thats only 5.28W/0.44A - still less than half the rated power of the CPU fan header.

I don't see where the concern is, but as I'm new to this I'm wary of going against advice.

abully

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2010
technically its better to connect one fan per header for safeguarding your mobo... two fans fed on one 12v supply will result in more power drawn from the boards header leading to a slight overload on the mobo... I have generally found this OK and within operating norms but what i did to be on the safer side was to swap the fans for PWM fans and then getting this splitter... what this does is the power is drawn from the psu but the speed modulations are got from the mobo... you can connect up to 3 fans with this one but i just modded my cabling to accommodate two fans...

mrklaw

Distinguished
Jun 14, 2008