Windows not booting after Dell e1505 battery change

CurlyQ

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2011
This is my first post. I'm not a techie but I try to learn how to fix problems by searching forums. My latest problem has me stumped. Since I'm not a techie - take that into consideration when giving advice. I see a lot of posts that say "Update you BIOS settings - without any explanation on how to do that. That's basically what I'm asking here. Here's my issue:

I have a Dell Inspiron E1505 laptop, also known as the Dell 6400. My battery died so I bought a new one. It’s not a Dell battery but it is supposed to work with my computer

I probably should have turned the laptop off before changing the battery but I didn't- I changed it out when the computer was on and running. Nothing bad happened... the battery charged and all seemed good. But then Windows installed some updates and rebooted and now I can't get past the Dell start screen. Instead I get the following error message:

We apologize for the inconvenience, but windows did not start successfully. A recent hardware or software change might have caused this.

If your computer stopped responding, restarted unexpectedly or was automatically shut down to protect your files and folders, choose last known good configuration to revert to the most recent settings that worked.
If a previous start up attempt was interrupted due to a power failure or because the reset button was pressed, or if you aren’t sure what caused the problem, choose start windows normally.

Safe mode
Safe mode with networking
Safe mode with command prompt

Last known good configuration

Start windows normally
----------------------------------------------------
I have tried each option without success.

I have also tried the following things to no avail:

■Booting with the old battery and without the battery
■Removing the batter y and unplugging the power supply for a period of time because I read this could reset the BIOS/CMOS settings.