Sign in with
Your question

Need help - data corruption persistent

Tags:
Last response: in Storage
December 14, 2010 1:44:29 AM

ok so, long story short this is my first build, had been working on it earlier in the year, finally finished towards the end of the year, etc. maybe a slight bit ambitious for my first build but i thought i had a handle on things. here's pretty much full specs just in case :

i5-750
msi p55-gd85
4gb of corsair dom (1600)
tuniq tower
his icoolerv 5830
crucial realssd c300 (64 gb)
500gb western digi caviar black
sony dvd/cd
win7 professional oem
viewsonic 24' 1080
logitech g110
razer deathadder 3500
antec 900

so. after finally piecing the thing together, ran into some buggy issues with my first install, thought maybe my ssd was borked. the other thing at play here is that i was running the SSD in sata 6 gbps, because it's a sata 6 friendly board. anyway after some fiddling i got windows up and running, everything seemed fine. good solid week or two of gaming, general use, etc. then things took a turn for the worse. i waited on the midnight release for black ops, copped the pc version, took it home and installed. or tried anyway, it failed. off the disk O_o. more than once. tried it again, eventually got it cracking (again with some fiddling about), ok we're good. more successful operation then a couple days later, boom files are corrupting left and right. steam files, other program files, mostly just the steam files but google chrome, plugins etc. i figure something has to be making bad writes, maybe it's the SSD after all.