Sign in with
Your question
Solved

What AMD mobile CPU's can I put in my Gateway MT6451 Notebook?

Last response: in Components
August 4, 2009 5:00:49 AM

What AMD mobile dual core CPU's can I put in my Gateway MT6451 Notebook? i know intel chips but im new to AMD, i just got this laptop but have been in another thread and have now come to a conclusion that i need a cooler running cpu, wouldent hurt that its also faster with more L2 cashe, i am currently running the TL-50 taylor, my notebooks specs are here

http://support.gateway.com/s/Mobile/Q106/BladeK8F/40011...

i have to figure out what will work, im looking at many models but i dont know what to look for compatibility wise, thanks for any help
a b à CPUs
August 4, 2009 5:04:33 AM

Even if you upgrade the CPU on that notebook you wont see a significant increase in speed due to AMD has weak mobile chips in their lineup.....
m
l
August 4, 2009 5:10:44 AM

im not worried too much about the speed, its more like temps, on average the cores are running between 60-70c so i want to go from 90nm to 65nm just to keep the temps down but also wouldent mind a little extra speed, or even get a little higher speed and then under clockeing it if possable to keep the temps even lower, when i first got the notebook (used) it was running about 90c and ended up being a cloged heatsink but i was told that it should be below 40c when not running anything
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
August 4, 2009 5:17:49 AM

Yes, Sir.... have you taken the CPU out and check to see if it has the correct amount of thermal paste? Have you checked the CPU cooler making sure it is spinning at the correct RPM's? Sometimes your hardware can shift or move from its original state and that can cause some issues....Check that out first before you buy anything....
m
l
August 4, 2009 5:21:53 AM