My i7 860 seems to run too hot

mcg75

Distinguished
May 1, 2008
I'm a relative noob when it comes to overclocking.

I've been trying to get my i7 860 to hit 4ghz and I can do that @ 1.4v but my temps go way too high. Close to 90c using
Intel Burn Test to check out stability. 190bclck @ 21x multiplier. And that's with hyperthreading off.

Clocked to 3.5ghz @ 1.25v, I still idle at 35c-40c and hit over 70c under load with burn test with HT off.

I'm using the coolermaster hyper212+ and according to most reviews out there, I should not be having the temperature
problems like I am. I've removed the heatsink and reapplied as5 twice. The second time I tried speading it on the base
of the 212 filling in all the gaps then a small line on each copper pipe. That works better than the one pea sized drop
on the cpu itself but still not ideal.

I think I have a bad 212+ as I read about another guy who had problems with his and he bought a new 212+ and
his temps dropped 10-12c.

Need some opinions here on what I should do. I'm thinking about ordering a new cooler. Either a Corsair h50
or a50.

Solution
You know what, I'm not sure your temps are that crazy high. I mean you should be able to hit 3.5GHz on 1.30V or so, so your CPU might just not be that good and require high voltage and thus gets high temps.

acer0169

Distinguished
The hyper212+ is a very good tower cooler, but not exactly the best air cooler you can get. There are many more than will give better results. In saying that, you should have pretty temps that what you're reporting. Either way.. if you're looking at the H50 you should spend a little more and get it's bigger brother, H70.

rubix_1011

Contributing Writer
^+10 for case airflow.

Pull the side of your case, blow a house or desk fan (on high) into your case. Rerun benchmarks, game, etc.