Learning about Bottlenecking

psylentstorm

Distinguished
May 21, 2009
Hi guys, I'm new to Tom's Hardware... this place looks like a GREAT community.

I was wondering if you could help me. I have a pretty limited knowledge about hardware (i.e. I'm not a complete noob, but enough to clasify as one), but don't know much how to distinguish which components can cause a bottleneck in performance. I was wondering if you guys can provide with a little tutorial or so to understand this.

I ask because I'm looking to upgrade my graphics card to either a GTX 260 Core 216 or make the jump to the GTX 275. Obviously, if all the other components are bottlenecking, then it's not worth the jump.

C2D E660 @ 2.4GHz (1066 FSB)
4GB DDR2 @ 667
1KW PSU
(still running on XP, if that matters)

I'd provide the manufacturers, but I'm not sure since they're all Dell provided. :??:
(was going to build my own rig, but I've had issues in the past)

Thanks for the help!

ac3144

Distinguished
Apr 27, 2009
Ha! Almost simultaneous post about exactly the same thing! Great minds think alike or is it idiots seldom differ....I'm not sure ;)

AC

daedalus685

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2008
Every computer has a bottleneck in it. As far as physics goes the term bottleneck simply means an aspect of a system (complex or not) that limits the overall output to a stronger degree than the sum of the other parts(linearly or not). Often times in the hardware world we use the term to point out which component is slowing the system down the most, obviously it is far more complicated than that. Computers are also not linear, unlike a valve on bottle :)