3x2Gb OCZ Gold DDR3 SDRAM 1600Mhz Cas 8 Timings: 8-8-8-24 @1.65v
Sapphire Radeon HD 5870
Corsair HX850 PSU
Xigmatech Dark Knight CPU Cooler
2x WD Caviar Black 640Gb HDD
Samsung CD/DVD burner
Antec 902 case
Samsung 2333 1920x1080 23” 5ns LCD

Initially the memory was recognized as 1033Ghz (which I expected) and I could not pass memtest86 v3.3 or the memory test in OCCT or the blended test in Prime95. Per some threads I read in these forums, the OZC forums, and the techpowerup forums, I changed the following settings:

DRAM voltage to 1.65v
VTT voltage to 1.34v
SpeedStep and Turbo Mode to disabled
Overclock mode to manual
Spread Spectrum to disabled
DRAM frequency to 800Mhz
Timings to 8,8,8,24 with tRFC at 80 and command rate at 2

Now the RAM shows up as 1600Mhz as it should and I passe memtest86, ran Prime 95 for 3 hours or so, and passed the memory test in OCCT. I just want to make sure I'm not missing a setting somewhere that is going to cause me problems down the road. I am new to this so I appreciate the help.

Also, under full load my cpu temp gets to between 70 and 72C. Is this too high? No overclocking at all on cpu yet.

Then I guess one step further, what do I have to adjust to overclock the cpu if the memory setting are correct?

Thanks for the help.
October 19, 2009 11:19:13 PM

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/880/11/
That temp is about where the stock cooler should be under load. The Dark Knight should be around where the Noctuas are at the bottom of that chart. I would say something is installed wrong as that is one of the best airflow cases and best CPU coolers. Make sure your cpu fan isnt fighting the case fans. I guess if your room was really hot to begin with (like tropical summertime and no A/C) it might be possible.
m
l
October 19, 2009 11:29:29 PM