Sign in with
Your question

Help in Aligning SSD, Vertex 2 (60gb) Raid 0, Dual boot Linux/Windows7

Last response: in Storage
December 17, 2010 8:51:45 PM

Hi all,

I just purchased 2 Vertex 2 SSDs running Raid 0. I only have the Intel Raid (P55, ICH10R) to use these. I don't care much about TRIM as I reformat every 6 months and I will not fill the SDDs anyway. I also have a separate set of HDDs 1TB (also running Raid 0).

When I built my RAID 0 array, I didn't use all of the space. I only used 90GB and made the rest as spare (20gb) for Garbage collection. Also, I used 128kb stripe.

So my usable space will only be 90gb. I haven't partitioned it yet. I plan to partition it into 2. 1st partition will be Windows7 (70gb). The 2nd partition would be Ext4 (20gb). I'm not going to use any swap partition. So it will be like this:

Partition 1: 70gb Windows 7
Partition 2: 20gb Ext4 / Linux Mint

I've had little experience with aligning SSDs but from a netbook (XP). I use diskpart and the parameter "align=1024".

This is my first time aligning in Raid 0 and I don't know what to do.

I still plan to partition my Raid 0 SSD using Diskpart in Win 7 because I don't want the 100mb partition Windows automatically creates.

I know I can partition the Windows 7 easy but how will I partition and align my 30GB for Linux. Will Gparted automatically align this too? Should I use fdisk to align it ALONG side my already aligned (1024kb) Windows 7?

There are a lot of guides I could find but it only shows aligning Linux. If there is a dual boot guide alignment, the guide only uses 1 SSD, not RAID 0. I also found out that usually Linux alignment is suggested to be 512kb. Will it conflict if Windows 7 is aligned at 1024kb then Linux at 512kb?

Or is it better to just set the partition using fdisk instead of diskpart?

Thank you so much!
December 20, 2010 9:24:12 PM

If it was me, I'd buy another SSD for my Linux part.