OK to go for higher BLCK and lower Multi?

zm15

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2009
I have:
i7-860
GA-P55-UD4P
H50

For some reason I seem to have better luck using a higher BCLK and lower multiplier. Is this OK? I've read it's better for higher multi and lower BCLK, but not sure why, I'm a noob at this.

I can boot into windows with 20x and 200 BCLK, but can't with 22x and 181 BCLK or any other combo i've tried to reach 4 Ghz.

Voltage is set at 1.29
Ram: 1.5
everything else AUTO

Thoughts?

zm15

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2009
Thanks for the input.

How will I know if PCIe/PCI is running at their rates speeds?

The only thing I have changed is vcore, set RAM to 1.5v - which is what they're rated, and pci to run at 100mhz. Everything else is set to auto.

Anything else I need to set?

I'm having the same problem myself.I've maxed out the multiplier at 19.5 and now i'm just trying to use the HT Link to get the last couple mhz.It's very difficult because i can't even get 100mhz without having to readjust the timings on my RAM.And i'm also still new to it so i'm not sure how to properly change the timings.Still trying,it takes patience and dilegence.

When you use the HT Link it also uses the RAM.So at the same time your O.C.ing your CPU your RAM also goes up with it.When it starts to get out of it's normal rated speed you will start to see instability.This is when you must manually change the timings for the RAM to gain stability again.It's really messy with the HT Link thats why i just use the multipler but you can only get so far.
The reason why you can't boot when you lower the HT Link is because you are also lowering the RAM freq.When you mess with the HT Link the RAM is also connected to it it so altering it also alters your RAM.Because you lowered it you also lowered your RAM and without the right timings on it that is why it crashed.Takes lots of fine tunings to get the RAM and HT Link to work correctly.

What type of cooler do you have?

zm15

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2009