Questions baout overclocking i7-950.

spenceryuan

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2011
I am new to this and I am planning to overclock my CPU and wanted to know what is safe to overclock to and what I need to get in order to do it.

Heres what I have:
Corsair 600T case
i7-950 3.06 GHZ
Asus sabertooth X58 Mb
650 watt antec earthwatts power supply
EVGA GTX 460 SE
8 GB Kingston RAM
1 64 GB Crucial SSD
1 TB Hitachi HDD.

I was thinking maybe overclock to about 3.8 GHz, sandybridge type speeds. Can i go higher and be safe?

I know that I need a new heatsink. Any recommendations? I was looking at the Corsair H50 or H70. H50 is alot cheaper, does H70 justify the 40 dollar price hike? Any as effective and cheaper solutions?

Also would I need to get a new Powersupply or will 650 watts be enough?

How much extra power do you need when you overclock? They said I need a minimum of 500-550 watts with my setup now. I am also going to upgrade to GTX 570 in a few months which takes about an extra 50-100 watt than what I have now.

Am i forgetting anything else when overclocking?

Thanks in advance,
Spencer

baddad

Distinguished
Oct 20, 2006
Download Intel Extreme Tuning Utility from their site and install it open it up and set the Host clock Frequency to 175MHz and you'll be at 4GHZ without doing anything else. You can try the 650W PSU and it may be ok, if not I would get at least a 750W PSU.

jprahman

Distinguished
May 17, 2010
I would advise against the H50 or H70 because I haven;t heard alot of great things about them. It's mainly an issue of the H50 and H70 just not giving much if any of an advantage over a high quality air cooler in terms of reducing heat. If you go with a mid-range heatsink like a Hyper-212+, Nocturna DH-14, Megahalem, or any other "big air" heatsink you'll get the same results as the H50 or H70 at a lower price.

Your current PSU is good enough for both an overclocked i7-950 and a GTX 570. Take a look at the Antec PSU calculator here: Antec PSU Calculator.