Sign in with
Your question

Stick with XP or go to Server 2008

Last response: in Systems
May 5, 2009 2:22:48 AM

Hey guys. I am currently running XP 32bit which I payed $140 for. After I bought it and installed it I found out that since I am a student I get a free copy of Server 2008 which can easily be converted to Vista. I downloaded Server 2008 from Microsoft and got my key for it once I found out I could get it for free.

I have been toying with the idea of installing Server 2008 but I have not done it yet. I can't get over the fact I spend $140 on XP and then I'm not going to use it.

What do you guys think I should do? Are there any benefits to running vista over XP? DX10 vs. DX9 is the only thing I can really think of. Thanks!

More about : stick server 2008

May 5, 2009 12:41:15 PM

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-vista/compare-...

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-vista/features...

Vista is good for new pcs. It does a lot of optimization at idle. Let it do its things. It's like having a car mechanic checking on and tuning your car while it's not in use. Also, the major diff. between xp & vista is firewall. Vista can block inbound & outbound (app/port/rule-based). It's like iptables in Linux. You can tune as much as you want. Or just get a frontend.

Did I say Aero?
May 5, 2009 7:22:18 PM

So you are basically saying to ditch XP and install Server? Seems like there are a decent amount more benefits.

Not sure if this is relevant but my system specs are:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000 (2.6GHz)
4GB DDR2-800 (2x2GB)
Radeon HD4830
500W PC P&C PSU
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
May 5, 2009 8:14:09 PM