Sign in with
Your question

PC keeps restarting when adding more RAM

Last response: in Memory
October 24, 2009 5:22:00 PM

Hi,

I'm a total newbie when it comes to stuff like RAM etc so bear with me.

This is my current system:

Intel Dual Core E5300

Gigabyte S-Series N650SLI-DS4L Motherboard
(http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/Motherboard/Product...)

2GB Corsair XMS2 RAM (2 x 1GB)

Windows XP Pro 32-bit

Now, I just got Windows 7 and I wanted to do the 64-bit installation therefore I purchased more RAM. Got 2GB of the same one I'm using at the moment (2 x 1 GB of Corsair XMS2). Now when I plugged it in, I got a blue screen error a few seconds after windows starting, something about a memory dump. After that when I tried again, Windows restarted on its own. I tried one last time and same thing happened, Windows restarted. I took the new RAM out and PC's working just fine again.

So is my new RAM faulty? Or is it because I have a 32-bit XP and is that causing the problem? Or is there a specific way how I insert the ram in my motherboard? When I googled the problem I saw lots of topics about 'increasing voltage to the RAM' or something.

I didn't want to experiment too much so I decided to ask around what is the issue that makes my RAM cause my pc to keep restarting. Thanks in advance.

More about : restarting adding ram

October 24, 2009 5:25:30 PM

And oops... my bad. My processor is e6300, NOT e5300. Can't seem to edit my previous post... ><
October 24, 2009 5:33:04 PM

might need to bump the voltage a little extra with 4 sticks
Related resources
October 24, 2009 5:34:00 PM

I have no idea how I bump voltage or even check how much I have etc. Like I said, I'm pretty clueless about stuff like this.
October 24, 2009 6:30:31 PM