Sign in with
Your question

NVIDIA 9800 GTX+ Three/Four LCD Screens

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 26, 2009 4:34:16 AM

Hi All,

First post here but I've been coming here for many years in particular for graphics benchmarking.

I'm looking for a solution to set up 3 or 4 screens using (hopefully) my current setup.
(i'll be happy if current supports 3, even happier if it will do 4)

I'm currently running a NVIDIA 9800 GTX+ 512MB card with 1x DVI output and 1x HDMI output, each currently going to 1x BenQ E2400HD, each running at Full HD reso 1920 x 1080(p)
(I use it mainly for gaming and watching meda through WMC).

So currently, 1 video card, 2 digital outputs, 2 screens.

What i'm ideally looking for is the ability to split one (for 3 screens) or both (for 4 screens) of the digital outputs so as to be able to add another (1 or 2) screen(s) to my setup.

The extra screen(s) will not be used for anything to do with 3D graphics and will be more used for web browsing, email, office, etc.

I get the idea that this might be possible because my workstation at work (IT Systems Analyst) has 1 video card with a single DVI output with a Y-Splitter attached going to 2x 17"LCD screens.
The only thing is, the DVI output port has a different pin arrangement (rather than having the horizontal/vertical cross, has a continuation of the rest of the parallel pin arrangement).

I've done a bit of reading around on various pages (here and elsewhere) and can't seem to find a clear-cut solution or response as to whether this is possible or not.

If need be, I am willing to purchase another video card of a lower grade (not for gaming) as I believe my motherboard (JW-RX780X-AM2+ SC) can take it just to be able to support an extra screen(s) for web/office applications.

Is any of the above possible?

Thanks in advance.

Geoff.
May 26, 2009 4:41:34 AM