Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Newbie overclocking help!

Last response: in Overclocking
February 23, 2011 8:40:55 PM

Ok so the 1st time in my life I just bought, built and am running on my new PC. Here are my specs:

i5 2500k
MSI P67 GD65
Corsair Vengeance 1600 4GBx2
Coolermaster 212 plus
Antec DF85
SLI GTX 560 TI

So here are my questions since I'm a newbie. I have everything up and running and running well. I tried overclocking the CPU and got nowhere fast. I went with recommended settings and it would boot but never actually load Windows. I than gave up and did OC Genie and it bumped it up to 4.2ghz which is great.

I downloaded CPU-Z and it says 4200 ghz but my ram says 798.3mhz, does ram share 1600mhz split in 2? I'm kind of confused by why it's not running at it's 1600 state. I go into BIOS and it won't let you change a thing with OC Genie on, which kinda blows. I stress tested in Furmark and my CPU comes up as 3200ghz, which makes no sense, also I tried windows assessment and it won't pass for some reason anymore.

Other question is with benchmarking and overclocking GPU's I used MSI afterburner and Asus smartdoctor. Turned voltage to 1.25 and got 983/1966/2176 (core/shader/memory) and got a benchmark on Furmark of 13066. Is that good? I seriously have no clue whatsoever, I stress tested for like 20 minutes with no issues with a temperature of about 75 celsius.

Any benchmark programs, overclock programs etc or knowledge you could throw my way would be so appreciated. I'm DL'ing Crysis demo to see how my computer runs.

More about : newbie overclocking

Best solution

a c 214 à CPUs
a c 155 K Overclocking
February 23, 2011 9:12:41 PM

Yes DDR = double data rate

Here's the SB overclocking instructions:

http://www.guru3d.com/article/core-i5-2500k-and-core-i7...
http://www.guru3d.com/article/asus-sabertooth-p67-tuf-r...

The generic overclock procedure (Asus - 2600k) is as follows:

1. Leave baseclock for what it is right now