1 x SSD vs 2 7200RPM SATA in RAID1....What would be faster?

fuzzyreets

Distinguished
Dec 24, 2010
Hi folks. I'm considering buying an SSD to replace my RAID 1 with 2 x 7200RPM Sata drives. Will 1 SSD be faster than the RAID1? I know different hardware will be different but I'm talking in general terms. I have no experience with SSDs at this point but I have little patience waiting for things to happen so I'm wondering maybe if the upgrade woudl be worth it. I would probably just use the SSD for my OS (win7x64) and leave my raid1 for files. Opinions? Thanks.

Read/Write Speeds

The typical access time for a Flash based SSD is about 35 – 100 micro-seconds

Whereas that of a rotating disk is around 5,000 – 10,000 micro-seconds. That makes a Flash-based SSD approximately 100 times faster than a rotating disk.

HDD data transfer rate at the rate of 80 megabytes per second typically.

SSD data transfer rate at the rate of 170 megabytes per second typically.

http://www.technize.com/ssd-vs-hdd-comparison/

I have two Seagate 7200rpm 500gb HDDs in RAID 0, and then I got an SSD and it's significantly faster. I wish I knew where I read it but I saw they compared 10k rpm Raptors against SSDs and I think they only won in sequential writes (the HDDs).

fuzzyreets

Distinguished
Dec 24, 2010
Wow. Okay. Thanks for all the replies. Now do you guys put your data on the SSDs or just your OS for speed purposes? I've got too much data for SSDs to really make sense. Thanks again for all this info. Looking forward to maybe purchasing one for my OS. Also, any recommendations or things to look for? I know that TRIM is something that you should have but that's all I really know. Thanks and happy holidays.

sub mesa

Distinguished