1055t Overclocking Problems [1. w/ Vcore, 2. w/ 265Mhz-ish Wall]

Ryan Zauros

Distinguished
Sep 13, 2010
Hi guys, this is actually a two part question. I was originally going to post just for help with trying to overcome a wall it feels like I hit at around 3.7-3.8Ghz, but now there seems to be a problem that I'd like solved first beforehand.

I am a novice overclocker and this is my first system, but I have been reading many forums and been trying to comprehend everything so far. More importantly:

AMD Phenom II X6 1055t
Asus M4A89GTD 890G Pro/Usb3
CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus HSF (Idle runs from 28*C to 36*C depending on Ghz)
G.SKILL Ripjaw 8GB (4 x 2GB, bought 2 pairs) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) F3-12800CL9D-4GBRLHere
SeaSonic 620W 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active Here

I have been running many different settings over the last two days, for hours. I started working the Vcore down with everything else @ stock to see how low it would go before it wouldn't run at 2.8Ghz anymore. I did a total of 5-6 tests, each time taking the max Vcore it took in HWmonitor and then setting the Vcore in BIOS to that setting. Each time, I noticed I had a Vdroop of around -0.06V while running IntelBurnTest, so setting at 1.344V would actually run down to 1.28-1.308V, setting to 1.308V it would run at 1.248-1.26V, etc. In all the tests, the idle would be the number I set in the BIOS, while running Intel would cause the Vdroop.

Now, that didn't and still doesn't seem bad to me since when running all cores @ 100% it would only run at 41*C and not overvolt the system.

So, I started with the lowest setting I found I could run 2.8Ghz (between 1.2V-1.26V) and began working the Bus Freq up.