Sign in with
Your question

New to custom systems

Last response: in Systems
May 6, 2009 8:20:08 PM

Hello all,

I'm pretty new to the whole custom pc thing and I was wondering if this rig would be good enough to run newer games like Crysis and such. I have a budget of $1050 and this is about the best I could build with that amount of money. If anyone could provide me with a similar build for a tad less that'd be awesome. Anyway, any input (recommendations, criticisms, whatever) would be greatly appreciated.

COOLER MASTER HAF 932
Corsair CMPSU-650TX
ASUS P5Q PRO
Intel C2D E7400
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB)
WD Caviar 500GB 7200RPM
EVGA GTX 260 896MB
LG Black 22x DVD Burner
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro CPU Cooler
Windows XP SP3 OEM

More about : custom systems

May 6, 2009 8:29:38 PM

Theres good quality hardware in that build but you can do better for the same price

I dont have time right now , but I suggest you head to newegg and look at

mb and cpu combos of Phenom X3 720 be and AM3 MB
4 gig of DDR3 ram
antec 300 case
WD 640 gig black hard drive
2 x ati 4770 gfx cards for crossfire
650 tx power supply
dvd burner

Might as well not bother with windows now . Download the release candidate of windows 7 and use that free for 13 months .

The system im suggesting is stronger every where and you will have change from your budget
May 6, 2009 8:38:54 PM

For a $1000 you can build a solid core i7 machine...or amd if you want. Those parts are probably worth $500-600 easy with OS included. Either way, i think thats a pretty fine build and if you want to get the most out of gaming, you have to get DDR2 1066 or 1200 RAM (4GBs). You can also run Crossfire set up to increase frames...with a Asus P5Q turbo. They are pretty cheap now.