Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Can I get higher overclock?

Last response: in Overclocking
February 26, 2011 6:07:58 AM

I put the overclocked specs in Bold:

My PC:
ASUS M4A87TD/USB3 (Bus Speed = 225 MHz, HT Link = 2031 MHz)
AMD Athlon II X4 640 - O.C. - 3.385 GHz @ 1.43V on stock heatsink/fan
4GB (2x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 (10666CL8D) - O.C. 1500 MHz @ 8-8-8-21
Antec 902 Case (Fans: 2 front, 1 top, 1 rear)
Corsair 650TX (PSU)
MSI Geforce GTX460 768MB/OC Cyclone (O.C. 875MHz Core, 1750MHz Shader, 4.4GHz Memory)

The setup above runs Prime95 stable (only tested for 30 minutes), and CPU core temps maxed at 57 degrees. I thought that I could overclock higher, and I spent the better part of Friday experimenting with all the BIOS settings. I noticed that only changing the reference clock and the CPU voltage made a difference, so I only changed those fields and kept everything on default/auto. But then again, this is my first time overclocking so it is possible I am doing something wrong.

I first tried the ASUS Auto-Overclock thing in BIOS, but it failed miserably. It set my reference clock to 232, and decreased the RAM frequency. Running Prime95 made BSOD within 5 minutes.

Any suggestions on how to increase my overclock would be helpful. I know that going with an aftermarket CPU heatsink/fan will really help, but I first want to see the max I can push it on stock since the cpu is not exceeding 57 degrees.

More about : higher overclock

Best solution

a b K Overclocking
February 26, 2011 5:06:04 PM

Quote:
ASUS M4A87TD/USB3 (Bus Speed = 225 MHz, HT Link = 2031 MHz)

Your CPU may not be able to tolerate a 2013 MHz HT Link. If you have it on "Auto" and your M/BD sets it to that value you may have to set it manually by reducing the multiplier by one setting keeping it closer to 2000 MHz as you can.

Quote:
AMD Athlon II X4 640 - O.C. - 3.385 GHz @ 1.43V on stock heatsink/fan