Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Hello !!!

Last response: in Overclocking
February 27, 2011 12:20:42 AM

Hi everyone am a new to this forum. Been reading lots on this forum as i have built my own pc in the last 3 week. I think this forum is really good hence i have joined.

I would like your opinion on the rig i have built as its my first build. I use it for watching movies, tv series, adobe suite i use are photoshop,ai,dreamweaver and bridge.

The spec is as follows :

Asus crosshair iv formula motherboard.
amd 1090t black edition cpu.
noctua-dh14 cpu cooler.
corsair 2x2 gig ram
evga gforce gtx 460 graphics card ( thought i bought ati lol does it matter ?)
novatec atx 600watts psu
coolmaster 430 elite case
3 case fan.

Now i would like to clock it to run around 4.2 or higher but stable when am playing a game. The motherboard comes with turbo evo software which has clocked it to 4.0 but when am playing the game it almost feels like the frame rate is not fast enough as am new i don't really want to do anything as am not sure your advice would be greatly appreciated.
As i have noticed on this forum and most i have read ! Everyone do overclocking in the bios am a bit scared to do this as i dont want to harm anything :??: 

Thank you for the help :) 

More about : question

Best solution

a b À AMD
a c 280 K Overclocking
February 27, 2011 9:04:31 PM

Hi and welcome to Tom's forum, of us is a placer have you here as a member.

The 1st thing that you need know about overclocking is that isn't good use overclocking software, always try to do overclock using the BIOS.

Go to your BIOS and disable this options:

1- Cool'n'Quite
2- C1E
3- Turbo Core
4- Speed Spectrum

If you do things right, with safe settings your hardware are safe. Take a look of the 4ryan6's guide about overclockin: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/258573-29-black-editi...

If you have another questions, come back here and I will help you. ;) 

P.D. Don't forget read the rules of Tom's.