Distinguished
Feb 27, 2011
My System:
Q6600 Revision G0
8 GB DDR3 1333 G.Skill Ram
MSI P43-C51 mobo
750w PC Power PSU
NVIDIA GeForce 8800GT

I'm new to overclocking and have read the Core 2 OC Guide. On my first try I don't want to do anything too drastic, so my goal is 3.0GHz. If I've understood the article, all I have to do is raise the FSB to 333 with the 9 multiplyer to give me 3.0GHz? Now with my RAM at 1333, I can't increase my speed farther without adding voltage right? I was unclear on what to do with the memory, so I will have to reboot and check out my bios for questions regarding the RAM. I was also concerned about my PCI Clock Synchronization. It says to set to 33.33 MHz, but its not an option in my bios. The PCI Express Frequency is already set to 100, and I know I need to turn off Spread Spectrum. Do I seem to be missing anything? Am I over worrying?

Out of curiousity, what kind of life span should I expect with a well cooled moderately OCed cpu?

I'm sure I will have more questions to follow. I'm still in the learning stage. Thanks all.

MRFS

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2008
your FSB is quad-pumped, so 333 "Bus Speed" x 4 = 1333 "Rated FSB"
(using CPU-Z nomenclature)

DDR3 1333 is "double data rate" so the "DRAM Frequency" is 1333 / 2 = 667 MHz

Thus, your RAM is already twice as fast as the Bus Speed of 333 MHz
so there is really no need to alter the RAM speed or latency settings.

We have our Q6600 overclocked with an ASUS factory preset using SpeedStep:
333 x 6 (idle) and 333 x 9 (busy), and no other changes were needed.

Our motherboard is an ASUS P5W64 WS Professional, however (975X chipset).

Your P43 chipset is a bit newer, so it should be able to do the same
with no trouble.

Hope this helps.

MRFS

Dr soggy

Distinguished
Feb 27, 2011