4 out of 6 GB available on Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R

Jesterhead

Distinguished
May 18, 2009
Hello all, I'll get straight to the point: My bios only registers 4 of my 6gb with ram. I have made sure they're seated in the correct places, I've also switched them around and tried all combinations possible to make sure it's not a faulty stick. The funny thing is, Windows is able to notice that I have 6GBs of ram, but there it says only 4 are usable.

I'm no expert at this, so there might have been something obvious that I've missed. If further info is needed, then please ask, I'll answer as fast as I can.

I'm running on the latest BIOS available at stock clock.
CPU-Z is reporting 6GB ram installed.

These are my specs:
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R
Processor : Intel Core i7 920
Memory: Corsair CMX6GX3M3A1333C9 1333 (Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333MHz 6GB CL9 Kit w/3x 2GB XMS3 modules, CL9-9-9-24)
Video Card: Gainward Geforce GTX 275

Memtest 86+ shows no errors, also looked for a bent pin in the CPU socket, but none available.

I found out this, however; DXDiag shows my Video card is eating up 2.7GB ram, this doesn't show in CPU-Z or the software following the Gigabyte mobo (Easy Tune 6)

Here's some screenshots of my DXDiag:
1256627721.png

What the dick is going on here?

Ignore it, its a feature allowing the video card to use system ram if needed. I do not even know how well it works, but it will not take your system ram unless it absolutely needs it(if even then, i have yet to see this effect system memory).

Check the task manager for your total memory amount.

29dblma.jpg

Jesterhead

Distinguished
May 18, 2009

Even though BIOS also reports 4GB RAM?

I'm at work right now, so I can't view tinypic links. I'd be really glad if you could rehost the image at wowbucket.com

Thanks for your answer though.

bilbat

Splendid