kennyman

Distinguished
May 5, 2009
:hello: Noob here, I put my first rig together last year (December 2010) and have been using it on default settings with everything set on auto in bios. I got my mobo, ram and hdd from my bro, and bought the cpu on ebay (used cpu). I am very happy with the overall performance, I use this pc for homework, AV project and casual gaming. have been reading a lot on how to OC the i7 and would like some input some knowledgeable people before changing anything in the bios.

As I know many of you have 980 in your PC, could you please point out a decent volt and bios setup, so that I can get an idea on where to start. I currently have;

In BIOS,
BCLK 133Mhz (3.3Ghz), Vcore auto, QPI auto
DRAM Freq 1600

Remaining setup is on auto.

I am looking for 3.8 to 4.00 G, any advic will be well appreciated :D

mrJim

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2011

christop is right, BTW please let us know your mobo, memory, HDD/SDD and heatsink details? This will help to understand your system.

I have been building gaming and multimedia system for years, you need to provide more details on your setup.

kennyman

Distinguished
May 5, 2009
I increased the multiplier to 26, at 27, it will boot but after a while I get a blue screen and then it will reboot.

My setup is
Motherboard: P6T Deluxe
Memory: 2gb x 6 - 12 GB (CMX6GX3M3A2000C9)
Hard Disk: 1 x Samsung 500GB, 1 x Western Digital 2000GB
DVD: LG DVD Drive
Case: CM Storm Scout (old)
Graphics Card: XFX HD5770
Power Suply: Corsair TX750W Case

Please a little help :bounce:

mrJim

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2011

Dude, if you want to OC get proper software for measuring temperature. Google for Realtemp or Coretemp. I have no idea of the probe thing you mentioned. Can you take a snapshot of the CPU HT?

natefostersr

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2010
Just set your ram on the higher/correct setting.
leave everything/Voltages on AUTO so it can auto adjust to the load your giving it.