Trying to build an engineering / gaming machine for $900

bres6486

Distinguished
May 9, 2009
I am an electrical engineering graduate student, and use Matlab a ton. Additionally i plan to do some programming in Visual Studio. (A lot of my programming is related to images and videos, so it is somewhat intensive, large data sets).

In addition to the engineering, i want to have the option of playing some games, like left 4 dead, maybe a call of duty or crysis type. I also want to be able to multitask, ie, have itunes, firefox, office, matlab and other stuff going smoothly at the same time.

I have uploaded a Newegg wishlist onto my personal site here:

http://www.personal.psu.edu/mqb5000/possible_computer_config.pdf

In particular i am looking for feedback on cpu / motherboard / video card/ and power supply. The 160 gb hd will supplement another 500 gb western digital i have.

One thing i did not mention is i will prob try to put windows xp 64 bit on the machine, maybe windows 7? Shrug

Please let me know what you think!!

Thanks

P.S i am upgrading from an amd xp 2600+ with 1gb of ram , and ati radeon 9800 pro 128mb.. so thats where i am coming from performance wise.

Might as well go single GPU option and go straight to AM3/DDR3 at a cheaper pricepoint me thinks :p
$777.48 with shipping less LCD/MIR
AM3770r1.jpg

We've had some other threads regarding engineering, video editing, AutoCad, and other professional software. I do have some reference material that might provide you with useful information to help you make a decision. Unfortunately I am not at home right now. I will post the link to the info this evening.

In the meantime, Rosewill power supplies get bashed quited a bit at this forum. Some of their psu's are not very good. It just depends on the manufacturer of a given model and components installed in the psu.