RAID 1 Degraded array questions

cveile

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2010
Hi all,

I'm a relative Noob to Raid...About 203 years ago, I setup an offsite pc at a local ISP's shop (the pc's primary use is a streaming radio server) with a raid array and external drive with ghost for additional backups...

The setup was WinXP, 2 seagate SATA 500gb drives setup via Raid 1. Installed the raid then the OS, and applicable apps. NVidia NForce raid BIOS controller and applicable software was installed.

I recently noticed it recently had many crashes and upon investigation, noticed that windows explorer was showing both drives, where before it just showed them as one (mirrored)...Also...the raid software appeared to be gone as well? So...I wasn't getting the mirror and wasn't sure how long it'd been since my secondary drive had mirrored the primary's data. Based on my pc event log, I think the primary drive is going bad and that spurred immediate concern (I didn't want to lost 30k music files and related database info).

When booting, I got the array is degraded message and hit f10 to enter...I wasn't sure what to adjust (both drives showed as degraded and I had options to rebuild either drive. That scared me as I didn't want to lose any data, so i didn't rebuild either. I did change the boot to the secondary drive assuming the primary was going bad...

Windows started up and most data was there...I copied over my music files, database files, etc to the F: (secondary) drive in case the C drive went out...

I then tried to reinstall the motherboard storage drivers for the raid, etc...I eventually got hte drivers installed on the secondary drive. However, when opening the Nvidia storage app, it listed no drives...Uggh...