Sign in with
Your question
Solved

GA-MA790GPT-UD3H New to SATA HDDs x-post

Last response: in Motherboards
October 28, 2009 3:03:53 AM

Not sure if I should x-post this or not. I posted this in the Hard Disks forum, but it might be more appropriate here? Not sure.

anyways....

I have some questions about working with SATA HDDs. I have a WD caviar black 750 gb HDD and a Gigabyte GA-MA790GPT-UD3H Mobo. All of this is brand new and I'm trying to partition my HDD so I can install windows 7 on it. I've never used SATA HDD's before.

In BIOS, the HDD is just being recognized on IDE channel 2 master. Shouldn't it be recognized as a SATA drive? If so, what do I need to do to enable SATA recognition?

When I boot into Acronis Disk Director Suite 10, to create the partition for windows 7 installation, the drive is not being recognized. The only drive that appears is my old back up IDE drive. How do I get the SATA drive to be recognized?

Thanks.
October 29, 2009 1:57:37 AM

Wow, 27 views and no suggestions? That's rare.

This just dawned on me while I was re-reading the mobo manual: in BIOS do I have to change the OnChip SATA Type to RAID? Correct me if I'm wrong, and I hope I am so I can get this HDD recognized, but don't you only use RAID if you have more than 1 SATA HDD?
m
l
October 29, 2009 4:54:14 AM

I had the exact problem you did. In addition, I have an IDE HDD and a SATA HDD. The SATA is my old and new primary OS partition. I disabled the IDE controller in "Integrated Peripherals" in BIOS and it immediately booted much faster. I also had the HDD and DVD plugged into SATA ports 5 and 4 respectively (though I can't say for certain that matters).

With this setup Windows 7 64bit Home edition installed properly.

I have not checked yet, but I suspect that Gigabyte may have supplied a CS IDE cable, or that I had accidentally connected the Master drive to the Slave cable. This may have originally been the source of the problem, at least for me.

Bottom line___