Sign in with
Your question

First Build, Need Help with Cables

Last response: in Systems
May 10, 2009 7:13:54 PM

This is my first build, and I was wondering if there was a guide that would help me with cabling this thing.

I have an Antec 1200 case, I have installed an ASUS P6T mobo, with an i7 920 CPU and Zalman 9900 cooler, 6GB memory, Antec E-750 PSU, and a EVGA GTX 285 board. That all went pretty smoothly.

But now I'm confused about cables...how do I plug in cables from the Antec PSU to the video card, etc, how do I connect the 1200 case fan cables to the mobo or PSU, etc.?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

More about : build cables

May 10, 2009 7:17:49 PM

the PSU should have 4, 6 and maybe 8 pin power connectors...look at the GPU and see which two it requires and connect the appropriate pins.

For the case fans, the P6T has a couple of chassis fan connections on the mobo itself. Plug as many as you can into these because you can control the speed using the BIOS/bundled software. For the rest you can plug them straight into the 4-pin molex PSU power connections. They will run at full speed 24/7.
May 10, 2009 7:42:31 PM

foolycooly said:
the PSU should have 4, 6 and maybe 8 pin power connectors...look at the GPU and see which two it requires and connect the appropriate pins.

For the case fans, the P6T has a couple of chassis fan connections on the mobo itself. Plug as many as you can into these because you can control the speed using the BIOS/bundled software. For the rest you can plug them straight into the 4-pin molex PSU power connections. They will run at full speed 24/7.

Thanks so much! The Antec EA 750 PSU has a cable labeled 8 Pin PCI express, with two 6 pin connectors, one of them having a 2 pin connector hanging off it. The GTX 285 has two 6 pin connector slots. Shall I plub both 6 pin connectors from the PSU into the two 6 pin connector slots on the GTX 285, or just one of them?

Thanks again.
Related resources