Sign in with
Your question

New home built PC BSOD

Last response: in Systems
May 11, 2009 2:22:50 AM

Hi please help me. I am having trouble with the PC i recently built. I would greatly welcome any help/advice given. First off this is my first time building a PC. I have installed new HDDs and RAM before so I am a little knowledgeable of the insides of a PC and being careful with installing parts. Also right after I built my PC, I helped my borther build an identical one with same parts. His is working smoothly. This is what I have:

PSU: Corsair 850tx 850W

MB: EVGA x58 sli

CPU: Intel core i7 920

RAM: Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600mhz

GPU: EVGA Geforce gtx 285

Bios: ver. 1.06.79

I am stable and able to boot up into windows with default settings loaded in bios. However when I try to change my RAM speed from 1066mhz to 1600mhz it causes BSOD. The following error:

machine check exception 0x0000009c (0x0000000000000006, 0xfffffADF5C891280, 0x00000000FE000000, 0x000000000030014A)

*The numbers/letters inside the parentheses vary a bit when i try the different settings.

I have tried manually changing RAM speed from 1066mhz to 1600mhz and have everything else auto. I have also tried to set timers to 8-8-8-24 and 1.65v for RAM with other settings auto. Sadly, both will cause BSOD. If i try to boot using xmp profile 1 and all else auto there is no BSOD at all it just boots up and resets then boots up again in a continuous loop.