erebus14

Distinguished
May 11, 2009
So after deciding I'd build a new i7 rig, I'm starting to have second thoughts. For one thing, I'd really like to have the GTX 295, but it's sold out virtually everywhere right now. But most importantly, I went over my budget of $1,500.

But anyway, my question is when do you guys think the best time to build will be? Are prices for the i7, x56 mobos, and GTX 295 expected to come down significantly in the summer or maybe the fall?

Any input is appreciated.

croc

Distinguished
BANNED
Sep 14, 2005

Being an engineer, I tend to believe in the 'form follows function' rule. First, define the function. What do you want to do? Can you do it now with what you have? If not, why?

Once you have determined the function, the rest is simple. If all you want to do is play games, then at what resolution?

Just saying 'I want to build an i7 system' won't help much.

dragonfang18

Distinguished
Apr 29, 2009
Last month (April) was when they had LOTS of GTX 295's, so I think I should have started at least then (295's sold out first week of may~ last week of April).

I have a feeling that the GTX 295 will not come back in stock. I've read somewhere that they had major difficulty producing it.

Prices for the x58 will not fall, if history is any indication. Motherboard prices are pretty stable as far as I can see.

The i7 920 will probably drop from $280 to around $200, sometime in July. This is just a wild guess, based on what Intel has been doing in the past.

The good news is, most X58 boards support both SLI and Crossfire. You can get a GTX 285 or HD 4890 now and add a second one later, and you'd get even better speed than with a GTX 295.

the best time to build = the day b4 you need the computer

Its also time for a reality check . Nvidia built the gtx 295 just so they can say they have the fastest gfx card ... but no one actually needed that much power unless they were using a 30 inch hi-res monitor .