Sign in with
Your question

~$200 Quiet Case for 24/7 Overclocking

Last response: in Overclocking
March 9, 2011 6:16:27 PM

Well I'm starting out to make my next rig and so far I have just about nothing concrete but I'm thinking about waiting for Bulldozer Black Series because I'm not the biggest of Sandy Bridge.

Obviously I'm looking to overclock but it's going to be a 24/7 machine so I need something that will keep it cool all the time.
Also, I am a video editor who works out of my house and I'm not going to buy multiple computers so this will also be part home theater and part gaming rig. However, because it will be in my office/bedroom I really would prefer it to be very quiet when it's not under 100% load and hopefully not too loud then.

Water cooling is probably too expensive for me. My budget is roughly $1300 so I will be spending ~$250 on a processor, ~$40 heat sink, ~$250 on a video card (with SLI/CrossFireX in the near future), ~$200 mobo, ~$100 RAM, ~$120 power supply, `$100 on HHDs
This leaves me ~$200 for a case.

I was thinking the Lian Li PC-B25S

I'm just looking for some support on this one or another direction.
Also I do like the eSATA and USB3.0 on the case but it's not a must but I'm not really a fan of the bottom PSU but I can live with it.

Any help would be great!
a b K Overclocking
March 9, 2011 6:38:50 PM

go on new egg search computer cases, type in full tower under results search. check out the sale on the nzxt and they have a decent coolermaster also.
m
l
a b K Overclocking
March 10, 2011 9:15:56 AM

Water cooling is the mos silent, by far. $200 is too much for a mobo, you'll need about $150 for a decent AMD board when Bulldozer gets released, you'll see! Add the money saved from the mobo to your case/cooling combo and get a big silent case with water cooling. Best performance, lowest noise, exactly what you want.
m
l
Related resources
a c 125 K Overclocking
March 10, 2011 2:07:49 PM