What do you think the problem is..?

jhyukkang

Distinguished
Sep 1, 2007
hello, ive been using e4400 cpu for about 2 years now.. with p35 ds3l mobo
it never had problem with overheating. im using rosewill heatpipe cooler.
when i first bought it, it could handle 3.23 OC from 2.0 with max temp of 68( this was until spring) with rosewill paste

about beginning of the summer, i cleaned up my pc, i reapplied grease as same way as i did before (same paste)
thin layer of paste spread all over the heat spreader of the cpu

i never thought of change in temperature since nothing was changed, i double checked all cables and heatsink was properly seated. ( no way a season change make this big change cua room temp is always about 75-80

few days ago, i checked my temp on speed fan while playing game, and it was 90C, i also went into bios and saw it was about 80C(not a peak mode of cpu)

it idles about 65C few min after boot. i touched the heatsink, and it was little warm, not so close to 60C

so i assumed that i should apply the paste again, but same result.. i thought there is noway this paste is causing this, because it worked fine before summer.

but just in case i bought artic silver 5 and applied it. but only 3-4 C cooler, its still around mid 85 when playing games. fans rotating fine with controller . (fan speed doesnt affect the temp alot, only 5 degrees. from 1100rpm to 2100rpm 92MM

i reseated and reapplied paste many times, it does not change anything.

i also tried different coolers, stock cooler which i used long time ago, remembering that max at 2.0 was 45C
but now its max is 64 at 2.0 (no overclock)

so now im thinking something must be wrong with cpu
what do you think the problem is??
(i know how to apply thermal grease properly)
btw sorry for making u read this boring long story.

freezed1

Distinguished
Jan 17, 2007