Where to start with mods and possibly OC

fish_86

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2010
Hi all. Just wondering where a good starting point would be for benchmarks and potential overclocking. Main thing I want to do is make the computer run the smoothest it can at an efficient speed. I have a new build and I seem to have a few hangups at times. I'd like to learn how to tweak it.

Benchmarks can tell you things about your system, but are there some that can recommend settings for a better build? There seems to be tons of benchmarking software out there that give lots of info on your comp, but what does all that info mean?

I have some basic knowledge, but once i'm in depth, I'm lost.

Well, first of all, what are your system specs?

As for benchmarks, well, there's plenty for graphics out there and a few combination cpu/gpu benchs. 3DMark Vantage and 3DMark 11 are both really good. They give you graphics and cpu scores, and you can definitely see the difference that overclocking makes.

Intel Burn Test or SuperPi are pure CPU computing stress test/benchmark programs.

Unigene Heaven is a great DX11 bench, specifically for tesslation.

Also a great program for monitoring GPUs is MSI Afterburner. I highly recommend that. For CPU, I like Real Temp and HWMonitor but there's plenty more.

fish_86

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2010
I think the thing I'm looking for most right now is how well the computer runs at different clock speeds with the ram. I've tried playing with different settings after looking at CPUZ but every time I mess with them the bootup give me an error and won't let me pass so I end up changing the settings back. I'm using a Gigabyte mobo 890FX.

Also I want to mess with the cpu in conjunction with the ram and get the settings right so everything runs smooth. possibly OC once I get familiar with things.