Sign in with
Your question

Phenom ii 1090T with liquid cooling

Last response: in Overclocking
March 10, 2011 1:51:03 AM

Hello, I have been irrationally scared of overclocking since I have never done it before. The Cpu

currently runs at its stock 3.2Ghz. In normal use, the CPU doesn't go beyond 24*C. The highest it has

gone, when playing Crysis @ Max settings, 8x AA, 1920x1080... (no bragging intended ;) , was 32*.

The low temperatures are because of the Koolance Exos LT liquid cooling system I found in the discard

pile in my workplace. I saw that people were able to overclock the CPU to 4ghz with the stock fan, How

high can I OC with my new cooling?
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
March 10, 2011 5:19:25 AM

Using someone else's settings for overclocking is not a good idea. Every piece has it's own personality and even CPU's that are 1 serial number apart "will not" OC the same.

To better help you please list you set-up's components
m
l
Related resources
March 10, 2011 11:31:39 PM

was about to do that:
phenom ii 1090T 3.2 (duhh)
AMD radeon 6970
ASRock890FX Deluxe3
G.Skill 16GB 1600mhz ddr3
1000W raidmax (I heard that they're crap) PSU

m
l
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
March 11, 2011 12:05:04 AM

I wouldn't use the settings nate supplied above.He's using the FSB settings which change the settings for everything and it's a bit more delicate,espically for a first time Overclocker.
Since you have a Black Edition proccessor it's very simple.All you do is increase the CPU mulitiplier and gradually increase the voltage.The max temp for the 1090T is 62c so make sure you don't exceed that temp.Although i'm sure you won't even come close with the cooling setup your running.
I would reccomend setting the CPU voltage to around 1.5 and the multiplier to x22 or x20.Whichever one gets to 4ghz.This is just an estimate but it's to test to see if your going to need more voltage or not at 4ghz.Try those at and run some stress test to see if it holds.
m
l