2600k Gigabyte H67A-UD3H Noob Questions

suntower

Distinguished
May 16, 2009
Be gentle, it's my first time. :D

I'm a music composer and I've never o/c'd before because, frankly, this ain't a game (no pun intended). Reliability is paramount since this is my living.

But I just got this new mobo and for kicks I tried inching the multiplier from 34 to 38 and after booting I experienced a NOTICEABLE difference with my music software (Cubase, Pro Tools). This surprised me. I didn't realise that such a small clock bump would make quite such a difference.

Anyhoo, I adjusted nothing but the multiplier. And on this mobo, you can't increase it beyond 38 (at least not without changing some other settings of which I know -nothing-.

I read the intro topic on O/C with the 2600k---which refers to MSI boards. I'm wondering if someone can give me some Gigabyte specific recommendations on how to proceed. The benefits seem to be worth some experimentation---just so long as I'm not doing anything risky.

What impresses me about this mobo and the 2600k is how QUIET the thing is... even with the stock cooler. The fan barely makes any noise (Antec Sonata with single fan) and it typically runs @ > 43C. I don't want to jinx that.

But if I can get even more bang without too much extra risk, I'm game to experiment.

Guidance?

And a couple of specific questions:
1. Is there a rule of thumb for predicting performance increase as the frequency increases? IOW: It would appear that going from 34 to 38 is not merely a 9% performance boost in Cubase (as I would've expected.) It -seems- to be much more.

2. What is the max heat I should stop at in order to remain conservative? Back in the 'old' days, my Athlon machines routinely ran > 70 with no apparent ill effects. I'm sure things have changed, right?

Sorry if these are such noob questions. I'll be happy with just some links to reading material if this has been answered a 1,000 times before.

TIA,

---JC

Solution