Sign in with
Your question

I7 selection question

Last response: in CPUs
August 16, 2009 7:32:06 PM

Hey guys, I don't know if there is a fact answer to this or if it is opinion, but I am getting a new system and don't know what processor to get.

My options are this:
i7-975 @ $760 more than the 920
i7-950 @ $290 more than the 920
i7-920 @ Base price

ALSO, same price on overclocking them as follows:
45$ for 10% OC
90$ for 20% OC

Any ideas on what the best price combo would be for performance? ** I WILL NOT overclock on my own in order to save up to 90 bucks...I am a total newb and just don't want to.

My plan right now is to do the 920 with the 20% OC.

How much more can other configurations give me, and would any of them be worth the money?

I pretty much want instant response on what I do, but the most intensive things I will do are DVD decryption/encryption type stuff while doing tons of multitask with things like itunes and such.

More about : selection question

a b à CPUs
August 16, 2009 7:36:57 PM

well, since you absolutely will not OC yourself
i would say the 920 w/ 20% OC
at 3.2GHz (920+20%OC) you will not see much of a difference between it and the i7-975 3.33GHz (only 133 MHz faster)
a b à CPUs
August 16, 2009 7:38:17 PM

though if you can afford to burn 4850 for the processor alone, you could go for the i7-965 with a 20% oc (4GHz)
Related resources
a b à CPUs
August 16, 2009 7:44:09 PM

Get a good cooler, PM me, Payme $20 paypal and ill tell you how to OC on the phone.
a c 309 à CPUs
a c 121 K Overclocking
August 16, 2009 7:47:49 PM

Realize that the 920, 950, and 975 are all the same chip. A 20% overclock to the 920 gets you about a 975, and that is very conservative.

Spend your funds elsewhere.
Perhaps a intel SSD for the OS.
Perhaps more than 6gb for multitasking.
a couple of 1tb hard drives for processing.
August 16, 2009 8:00:30 PM