Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Radeon 5850 OC settings

Last response: in Overclocking
March 14, 2011 3:32:57 AM

Hello friends at Toms, I’m trying to OC my video card a Powercolor Radeon 5850.

Method 1: I increase the clock cycles in increments of 5 to 10 in CCC and I run Furmark after each edit then test with the heaven benchmark. When I reach a point where it fails, I reset the clock back 5 to 10 and that should be my sweet spot. Right?

Method 2: Let the “Catalyst Control Center” auto tune the card. I did this first thinking I could get near the best OC for the card then tweek it some.

The default settings are clock 760/ mem 1050.
the "Auto tune" in CCC ramps it up to 865/1215 but the card freezes.

I’ve managed to manually get up to 805/1050 and it runs stable at 810/1050 it crashes. I’m confused why the auto tune would set it so fast that it crashes.
This is the first computer I built myself and I'm kinda new to this stuff.
Thanks for your time.

AsRock x58-xtreme mobo
Intel Core i7 930 Mhz
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3x2GB) 240-Pin SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) CMP6GX3M3A1600C8
CM 690 case
CM 750 watt ps
CM Hyper N520
PowerColor Radeon 5850 gpu
Asus CD ROM
M-audio Studiophile AV 40 speakers

More about : radeon 5850 settings

March 22, 2011 12:07:09 AM

davcon said:
Use this to oc your gpu
http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm

I actually have that installed. Since I posted the question I've become aware of another OC tool for the GPU called the "AMD GPU Clock TooL". It's actually supported by AMD, where the MSI one is not. I just can't find any documentation specific to it.

Do you have any good articles I might find helpful? I'm pretty noob to this stuff.

Thanks for your help.
m
l
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
a c 183 K Overclocking
March 22, 2011 3:41:24 AM

gerry410 said: