destro

Distinguished
May 14, 2004
Greetings everyone, I've been using this site for 10+ years. I usually post about building a studio PC, but the funding wasn't there to get it built. While I've built machines for friends & family, never got around to building something for myself, but finally that time is over. So this thread is to talk about what went into this custom build and the overall experience since I built this machine. I work on computers everyday all day and even my co-works can't really appreciate this system, but I know the people at Tom's Hardware can:

The Machine - Completed 4-28-09

Case: Antec P182 SE - Had this case for a year to build a Core 2 Duo machine, which never happened. Instead this case was used for a Core i7 system. Its a nice looking case on the outside, roomy on the inside, but would've liked a little more room. However, to counter that you can run the cables on the backside of the motherboard tray, which is really nice. Has 3 fans pre-installed, 1 rear, 1 top and 1 in the lower chamber, with the option for 2 more. I took the lower chamber fan out and used it as a front intake fan. The rear & top fan have speed controls on the back, which is great. I usually run it on med settings, which isn't too loud, in comparison to the high setting. When running at the low setting, u can't hear a thing, but it doesn't move the air well enough, at least not for this system. Also 2 removeable hard drive trays, awesome! The rail system for the 5.25 bays, to me, has a poor design. Difficult to install & remove those bays, but not impossible and really the only thing I didn't like about the case. Running cables up the backside, priceless! 4\5

Power Supply: Corsair CMPSU-650TX - 650 watt power supply, that's quiet as a mouse. Lots of connections, wish it was modular, but not gonna complain, I can barely hear it. 8 sata power connectors!?!!?!? I need that! 5\5