Sign in with
Your question

CM Hyper 212 vs Corsair H50

Last response: in Overclocking
March 15, 2011 5:45:27 PM

I am a first time builder and I am trying to decide between the Cooler Master Hyper 212 and the corsair H50.

Price is not an important part of my decision in this case because in Canada there is only a $20 difference between them at Tiger Direct.

Being a first time builder, I liked the idea of the Corsair H50. It has preapplied thermal paste that will suit my needs (no crazy overclocking) and it has a low profile so I don't have to worry about it interfering with other components. It also looks nice in the case (but thats not important)

But, the more I read about it, it seems that it has some issues. I have read a different instances of the cooler leaking a breaking components and although many of these issues seemed to get privately worked out with Corsair and their RMA services, I am sure nothing is certain. Also, I am using a CM 690 II with stock cooling in it and I am worried that I won't have enough because the cooler is bringing in air instead of pushing it out.

On the other hand, there is the Hyper 212 which I like for it's unanimous appeal and low risk. Unfortunately there are also issues with it for me. I have no experience with thermal paste application and the process seems very complicated and I am worried I might screw up. Also, the cooler is HUGE and I am concerned that it won't properly clear my RAM. (Looking at buying a new ASUS p67 PRO mobo and 2 x 4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws RAM)

So, which do I choose in this situation? Is leaking super uncommon in the H50 and my cooling is adequate? Or am I just paranoid about the size and thermal paste application of the Hyper 212?

More about : hyper 212 corsair h50

a c 324 K Overclocking
March 15, 2011 6:19:59 PM