Keeps shutting down :(

steveturner

Distinguished
Nov 2, 2009
Right here we go:-
my computer that i have just built keeps turning off, basicaly unstable. i beleive this is due to something to do with the memory set-up in my bios?

The motherboard i have is a ASUS m4a79xtd EVO with a AMD Phenom II x4 Black Edition 3.4 processor socket am3.
i have installed kingston hyperx 2x2gb ddr3 modules 1600mhz, part number khx1600c9d3/2gb

can anyone help me or give any advise?
just anything! haha

please bare in mind i am a bit of a noob to all this

steveturner

Distinguished
Nov 2, 2009
It is none of them, the pc turnes on and i have installed windows 7 on it fine. it runs but randomly turns off it was first doing it when scanning for new channels on windows media player through my tv card but now it is always doing it, im not a time waister, oveosly i didnt make my problem clear to you, sorry.
it does boot up fine as i am using it to write this and all drivers are installed.

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2008
as i stated I know you can post but many of the things on the list can also cause the problems you have described.

set bios to fail safe defaults
take all but one mem stick out
still got problems try a different mem stick
are your switch wires pinched anywhere (could be shorting out)
is there anything lose inside the case

steveturner

Distinguished
Nov 2, 2009
cheers, sorry if i have caused any trouble. i dont mean to waist time.
i have set the bios to defaults. an taken one ddr3 out leaving the remaining one in.
there are no traped wires and no cable ties around any wires or anything of that sort.
nothing is lose inside the case.
after setting it to default i am tryin it out with one stick like you say, as weird as it sounds it never failed to do the fault when scanning for new channels on windows media so i am doing that to see if when it comes to 90% complete it still closes like before.
it doesnt just do it when scanning for channels by the way.

Distinguished