E7500 won't go over 3,5 GHz.

Grix

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2011
I just bought a new cooler for my E7500. I quickly got it to about 3,5 GHz stable, but if I try to clock it higher my system crashes, even at Intels stated max voltage. I really want to clock it higher as it is very cool at this setting (under 50C load). I am new to overclocking, am I missing something? How is it possible that some people have theirs at 4GHz stable?

Here is my current specs:

http://askoylan.com/grix/oc.png

Also, is there some more settings I should edit? Stepping, RAM timings, etc? Should I have intel speedstep on or off?

All chips are slightly different - even two from the same area of the wafer. A chip with a lower VID will tend to overclock better than a chip with a high VID. Some motherboards are better overclockers than others. Some cases and coolers are better than others. And some people have more experience wringing performance out of their systems. And some of us have just been doing this longer.

Unlike any of the Core2 quads, a C2D chip is likely to reach the voltage limits before it reaches the thermal limits. So it is not surprising that at a relatively high core voltage setting, your core temps are so low.

This should be your first stop.
Core2 Overclocking Guide
http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/259899-11-core-overclocking-guide

Next stop should be a guide for your particular motherboard. Google is your friend.

Go through the guides. Then take your core voltage off Auto and set your memory voltage to factory recommended values. Change the System Memory Multiplier (or whatever your BIOS calls it) from AUTO to 2.00, 2.00B, or 2.00D - whichever you need to set the Memory Frequency to twice the FSB. Then when you increase the FSB, the memory clock will rise in in proportion with it. At an FSB of 266 MHz, your memory clock should be at 533 MHz.