Sign in with
Your question

First forray into liquid

Last response: in Overclocking
March 16, 2011 9:16:23 PM

Hi guys,

I've been reading these forums for a while now, and I can usually find what I'm looking for that way, but this one I can't really figure out on my own. I have 3 MSI reference 6950's unlocked into 6970's and with the terrible stock cooler that AMD saw fit to use they get HOT and LOUD. As I am sitting here they are all between 41C-61C with the fans at 45%. The way I see it I need to "take the plunge" so to speak and go to liquid, but I don't have a clue on God's green earth as to how to go about do that. I'm an engineer by training so the technical part of actually doing it I'll be fine at, but I don't know what are the best water blocks or radiators or pumps or even what all exactly I will need.

Here is my current setup (the MOBO and CPU will be swapped out for an AMD FX-8130P and a 990FX Crosshair V extreme set the day they come out)

3x MSI reference 6950's Unlocked into 6970's at 1GHz
4x2GB DDR3 1333 Patriot sector 5
2x 500GB Momentus XTs in Icy Docks in RAID 0
Hitachi Deskstar 2TB 7200RPM
Creative soundblaster X-FI Titanium Fatl1ty Pro
ASRockj (M3A785GXH/128M) Socket AM3/ AMD 785G/ 3-Way CrossFireX/ A&V&GbE/ ATX Motherboard with all the heatsinks replaced with low profile fansinks
AMD 1055t @ 3.93GHz Under a Hyper 212 plus with zalman thermal grease
HP 12060i DVDRAM (Not that that matters)
Corsair HX850W
Cooler Master HAF932 with just stock fans
(I will be adding a small SATA 6B/s SSD with a sandforce controller when I get the new board and putting it in an icy dock as well)
Then I have the standard junk like gaming keyboard, mouse, gamepad, controller, speakers, headset, printer. I run eyefinity too if that matters.