MSI P67A-GD65 B3 Overclocking question

soloby

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2011
Hi guys, I'm a first time builder and I think I got myself a pretty nice build (~$770)

Thermaltake V3 BE
MSI p67A-GD65
i5-2500k
CM Hyper 212
GSkill 8gb ddr-3 1333
EVGA gtx 460 1gb ssc
Antec 650w Earthwatts
Seagate 1TB 3.5" 7200

I'm now trying to overclock my cpu following this very helpful guide:

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/265056-29-2600k-2500k-overclocking-guide

But in my bios, I can't find

many of the things he has mentioned

Disable:

Limit CPUID Maximum
Power Technology
C1E Support
OverSpeed Protection
Spread Spectrum

Enable:

Internal PLL Overvoltage
Execute Disable Bit
Intel Virtualization Tech

I only see spead spectrum and Internal PLL Overvoltage

I'm guessing I have to update my mobo's BIOS but LiveUpdate 5 says there are no updates found for my system.

Anyone please give detailed info on what I am supposed to do? Thank you

All of these settings are in your Overclocking menu; however, if you scroll all the way to the bottom of that page you will see highlighted options you can select(CPU Specifications), I will compose a list of those when I get home and post them here as well as update the guide. Thank you for your inquiry.

Cheers.

soloby

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2011

Ok Thank you very much, I will wait until you get home and get right onto it with your instructions

In your main Overclocking Menu you will see:
Internal PLL Overvoltage
Spread Spectrum

If you scroll all the way down to the bottom of the section you will see "CPU Features." In here you will see the options for:
Limit CPUID Maximum
Power Technology
C1E Support
OverSpeed Protection
Execute Disable Bit
Intel Virtualization Tech

Make sure you have your BIOS updated past v1.7 to enable the PLL Overvoltage setting.

What version is your BIOS at right now?

soloby

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2011

hey sorry for the late reply, I don't think I have a v1.7 past yet, how do I update my BIOS?